Organized tours to remote community and other countries are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for local people and the local environment.

It is true that expeditions to remote areas and other regions are now becoming more and more common. From my personal point of view, this trend towards travelling is an overall downward development and it could have some serious impacts on the local residents and the local environment.

To begin with, an issue of arranged trips to other countries and regions is that it could possibly change the living habits of the indigenous. Normally in most faraway places and regions, local people develop their own unique customs and traditions as well as lifestyles. Due to the increasing amount of tourists visiting, some regions are confronted by the problem that their cultural and traditional values might be damaged. For example, Phuquoc, a small island with long beautiful beaches located to the South of Vietnam, has witnessed profound changes into a place for resorts and hotels in just 5 years since its beauty was discovered. It has become the place for lucrative businesses, but it also changed they way the local residents live as people give up their traditional fishing, which was passed down through generations, to work in tourism service industry.

Moreover, the local environment could be suffered from irreversible damage caused by organized tourism. Forests and rivers home to many wild animals and aquatic creatures are being contaminated by indiscriminate littering caused by hordes of visitors. Besides that, in many distant places, trees are being chopped down to make way for roads and constructions to cater to the need of travelling and camping. This consequently ruins the local ecosystem.

In conclusion, the popularity of arranged tours to distant areas and other countries adversely effect both the local people and the local environment in the way that it changes how the people live and pollute the regions.