Organized tours to remote places and communities is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

Tourism services offered at disadvantaged area have been increasingly prevalent over the past few years. While I accept that this tendency can bring about a number of advantages, I believe that it still exerts several negative impacts.

On the one hand, there are an excessive load of benefits when citizens wander off the beaten tracks. To begin with, their travel is believed to boost local economy and create more jobs. Indeed, as revealed by recent studies, tourists tend to break the bank for a holiday of the lifetime, so this may contribute to a massive influx of money poured into the destination’s budget, along with an enormous demand for employees in the service sector. In addition, the more residents visit a region, the more likely it is to stimulate interest in preservation and construction. Particularly, if it comes to the authorities’ knowledge that travel is financially advantageous, they may allocate their resources to renovate or build more facilities to enhance the experience for visitors in hopes of optimizing revenue, of which local citizens can simultaneously take advantage.

On the other hand, tours to remote areas are also recognised to be detrimental because of discernible reasons. From an environment perspective, many tourists lacking of social conscience has been witnessed to ruin a tourism site by littering, smoking or tearing off flowers, which left the destination polluted and devastated when they ended their trips. Therefore, it is safe to say that these locals’ scenery depletion was undoubtedly attributed to travelers. Furthermore, from a culture perspective, it was their lack of respects to local culture and tradition that deprives residents of social tranquility. Specifically, a number of visitors as well as behave inappropriately towards others at public places, and this may pose threats to security, or even result in a loss of moral and religious values.

Briefly, it seems to me that although traveling to less well-known regions is beneficial, its drawbacks should not be overlooked.