Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems?

On these days, more and more countries all over the world are confronting numerous problems caused by fast growing populations in urban areas. In particular, it is argued that pollution as well as the shortage of housing are two of the most serious problems brought about by overpopulation in metropolitan areas. Both governments and individuals have an enormous responsibility for encountering this issue. In this essay, these problems will be examined and a variety of possible solutions are also given.

Undeniably, that pollution is believed to present the initial issue. To be more specific, pollution of water resources results from the population explosion. The fact remains that it has a dramatic effect on the whole water system. According to a report compiled by US Public Interest Research Groups, it is indicated that approximately 39% of rivers, 46% of lake and 51% of estuaries are still too polluted to go fishing or swimming safely. Moreover, not only water but also air is seriously polluted. To exemplify, in a report of the Environment Defense Fund showed that “80% of the cancer risks from air pollutants nationwide is from mobile transportation sources the cancer risks from air pollutants nationwide is from mobile transportation sources”. Hence, it is obvious that the more inhabitants move to big cities, the more garbage is eliminated. In other words, the increase in the number of citizens makes a significant contribution to pollutant emission into the cities’s environment.

Another noteworthy impact is associated with the shortage of housing. To be more precise, The National Building Organization (NBO) had estimated the urban lack of house at 8.23 million in 1991 and had expected the absolute shortage to decline to 7.57 million in 1997 and 6.64 million in 2001, as an illustration. That is to say, in view of increasing population, there is a great demand for accommodation towards the migrated citizens. In addition, the amount of land in urban areas is extremely scanty; as a consequence, should the number of individuals moves to the urban areas exceedingly, the government will not have the ability to provide sufficient accommodation for all of them.

Much as a large number of alarming issues are adverse consequences of overpopulation, to diminish these difficulties, a range of strict measures is taken. The first method is that the government can increase the number of employment offers in suburbs such as providing them lands to cultivate. From then on, when they have a stable work to earn their livings, they will not have a growing tendency to aggregate in the city. In addition, the government should also develop programs such as sex education or family planning to these individuals since knowledge is one of the most essential elements to have the overpopulation problem solved. A further approach lies with formulating lucrative schemes to stimulate private builders to invest in new housing projects from the government. It is undoubted that the more houses are constructed, the more inhabitants have a better place to live. Equally important, citizens in urban areas are capable of renting unused rooms in the apartments or houses. Not only can it solve the shortage of living place but it also helps them save a great deal of money due to not having to build a house.

In conclusion, it is obvious that fast growing population in big cities in the world today have so far led to burning issues in our society, particularly pollution and lack of housing. Government and individuals are determined to make great efforts to solve these problems.