In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Long time ago make purchases was considered be a household duty. Currently it’s perceived as a hobby. From my point of view, I don’t agree to this trend.

Younger generations spend time with friends in malls. They believe that mall is a safe environment. Families more and more often choose mall to hang out together. In modern time, people are always busy during the week. Malls contain a huge variety of shops. This character would help people to spend money easily either on leisure activities such as cinema, either on chores such as doing the grocery shopping. Sometimes they buy items that they don’t need. In case of groceries for example, it means food waste. This is easily applicable to clothes shopping too. In fact, nowadays fast fashion industries are in developing, both as physic and as online stores.

Environmental experts say that the develop of fast fashion franchising is dangerous for the environment. There are many reasons for that. First of all, production of these clothes is placed in poor country in which the labour and textiles cost are lower than in the western Europe. Fabrics are most of the time made of petroleum derivates. In the situation in which they must be recycled, this action is going to be a high environmental impact.

In the end shopping is an unproductive activity too. In my opinion families should spend time in a better way. An example could be going to museums. Even healthier could be spend free time enjoying some open-air activities, like riding bike or just exploring woods.