In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous.

What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the midst of the materialism and consumerism era, some proponents opine that sporting awards are used to stimulate the players with the desire to beat enemies or break the previous highest rank whereas these rewards in the present day are replaced by precious materials such as money and reputation. In this essay, I will analyze the meaning of the above statements and cite the influence of sports on sports players.

First and foremost, these precious awards can encourage more youngsters can register in sports competitions. Wining a bunch of money can support the young to get by the financial hardships in their life while still having healthy mental and physical health from practicing sports daily. Secondly, the valuable prize can make the youngsters feel like it is worth the time and effort that they have sacrificed. Thirdly, however, the materialistic meaning of the reward can make young people assume that winning is everything and undermine the true value of sports. For example, some sports candidates in sports events such as Olympics, Sea Games,... misbehave once playing in order to beat and hurt the opponent contestant purposefully.

Considering the effect of these materialistic rewards on sports themselves, it is evident that it can widespread the fame of sports events and attract more players to practice sport on a daily basis. Admittedly, it can make society ease the negative phenomenon such as sedentary lifestyle, and obesity,... whereas its trend still has some drawbacks. Needless to say, the sports themselves might lose their true meaning. If sporting champions are no longer used to encourage mainly by the desire to win a match or beat the top record, they might not truly find the skilled players who immerse in these by passion and ambition. Moreover, sports contestants might become more aggressive and have the wrong tactic with the rival team in order to take home first prize. Finally, people are no longer playing sports for entertainment or stress relief and just concentrating on the value of the prize which might pressurize the sports players.

In conclusion, this social phenomenon can be in both positive and negative directions. Nevertheless, I personally contend that this modification can mitigate the sports morale of the player, and its setback might outweigh the benefit.