In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In today’s world, parents tend to send their children to study abroad. Some people agree that nobody could deny the benefits which are brought by studying abroad; meanwhile, others maintain that there are still relevant defects. Personally, I am of the opinion that there are both advantages and disadvantages. This essay will attempt to have a closer look at the issue.

To begin with, it is a fact beyond dispute that getting a foreign university degree could offer a profusion of benefits. Firstly, it is clear proof that students have enough professional ability which was trained by the oversea school and also have foreign language ability. That is to say, students who study oversea have more job opportunities in hometown when they finish their study. Secondly, moving to another country for studying is also a chance to have an independent life and be more self-discipline. To illustrate, living alone without control of parents is a new experience that students who study in their country do not have. However, this is also a challenge for overseas students for not being self-indulgent. In brief, study abroad is a time for children to grow and learn new knowledge as well as life experiences

Howbeit, notwithstanding the aforementioned merits, there would also be the presence of drawbacks. First and foremost, the cost for study abroad is more expensive than study in a native school. In other words, not all parents could pay for their children all fees in a foreign country. So some students tend to have part-time jobs or more to get money covering their fees. The worth mentioning is that there is a group of students busy themselves with doing jobs and forget their main purpose. Additionally, a new life in a new country has many new things to experience, this distracts children from studying while they could not be reminded by parents due to the long distance.

In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that although there exist negative impacts of study abroad on student life, its benefits should not be overlooked due to the above reasons.