People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think the aging population has many advantages for business, government and society in general. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people are convinced that the aging population can create many onerous problems while others think these population can bring many assets for the business, government as well as society. This essay sheds light on both viewpoints and gives my own opinion.

There are several reasons why many hold a belief that older people could bring many drawbacks in the life. Firstly, it strains on welfare state when budgets are stretched thin because the aging population drive up medical and pension payments. Secondly, the greying population leads to higher retirement age in the sense that they would be in the job market for a longer duration. If the world of work fails to create new jobs, the end results can be fewer occupations available to younger people.

On the contrary, others suggest that people live longer may offer the number of blessings to business, society as well as the government. From a business perspective, many companies capitalize on products and services with the sole objective to cater to their needs. More importantly, the aging population can be the economic powerhouse, which is no doubt a good thing for any government. For society, older people who have a wealth of skills and experiences. To be more specific, they are living museum of traditions and values, their skills and experiences could be implemented to survive values and traditions which always face the risk of being forgotten.

For both advantages and liabilities mentioned above, the ageing population carries with not only benefits but also the development of human in the earth.