People prefer to use their own transport these days.

Why is this so?

What can be done to encourage people to use public transport?

Nowadays, homo sapiens choose to travel from individual transport rather than public transport. There are several reasons of this notion, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs along with some solutions on how people can be encouraged to use more and more public transit system.

The principal reason behind the increased usage of self-owned vehicles is the convenience and the comfort offered by them. This is because private vehicles are equipped with comfortable seats, which a person can use and manage according to his comfort. As a result, these offer the enormous comfort to people and they opt to travel by their own transport. In addition to this, commuting through own vehicle can be time saving as the person drives at a speed of his preference to reach the destination at a desirable time, which is not possible in the public transport. Take the example of government buses of India, which run at a maximum speed of 80kmph and take the time which is twice the time of travelling by a car to reach its destination.

Nevertheless, there are myriad ways to inspire common individuals to use public transport. First, it can be done reducing the travelling ticket charges and offering discounts for frequent travellers on monthly passes. This will oblige general public and daily commuters to travel through governmental transport. Moreover, if the government maintains seats of the vehicle regularly and get the vehicle serviced on time, common people would develop trust in them and will use more and more. To epitomize, the authorities of Chandigarh public transport, one of the states in India, takes regular inspection of their vehicles to attract more travelers. Owing to this, a significant rise is seen in the number of passengers, who use public transport of Chandigarh.

To conclude, although people are inclined to using private vehicles due to the comfort and less journey time, reducing bus fares and regular maintenance of vehicles can help to attract more passengers in public transport.