People say that reading for pleasure helps people to develop imagination and better language skills than watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading books is preferred by many people rather than watching TV because it improves our imagination and language skills. Despite its significance, I am convinced that TV is a better channel for everyone to obtain knowledge and mental skills.

On the one hand, is it important to acknowledge the positive aspect of reading for pleasure. This activity not only helps people to relax but make their brain perform a number of exercise relating to concentration and memory. By scanning for necessary details and skimming for main ideas, readers are more likely to remember the information better and indeed in a longer time. Moreover, the more books they finish, the more their horizon can be widened. For example, journals of Biology provide explanations of several natural processes, while English books contain tips and tricks to prepare for language examinations. For IELTS trainees, they usually read sample essays or newspaper articles to learn topic-based collocations and sentence patterns, which are applied to enhance their writing.

On the other hand, watching TV plays a more significant role in imagination and language development of each individual, regardless of age. Firstly, TV programs attract young audience with catching melodies or visual motions, leaving more impression in their brain than printed words do. When it comes to children learning a foreign language, for instance, they learn letters in the alphabet by funny songs and pictures of animals. Secondly, adults working for multinational companies can improve their language skills through practical communicative lessons. This way, they get exposed to the way native speakers pronounce certain words precisely and have more motivation to study. Unlike those in books, such interactive lessons encourage learners to speak and listen constantly and actively, making them process further in terms of fluency.

In conclusion, reading books does bring people many benefits. However, watching TV lends more support for everyone to improve their language skills and become more imaginative.