People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past fifty years, there is an increasingly growing number of people who live abroad including immigrants. While it is argued by many that following customs and traditions should be taken for the sake of adapting new lives, there still remains some arguments against this issue since it is responsible for limits of diversity in cultures. Overall, it is my view that local rules should indeed be obeyed when living in a new country.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that following the local culture will facilitate life in a new country. The more you know about the culture of your host country, the more prepared you will be for a different way of life, and the easier it will be for you to cope with new ideas and experiences. Misunderstandings due to cultural differences are a reality but can be reduced through sensitivity and careful communication.

Even more importantly, culture and customs are intimately bound up with business. Understanding the culture and the customs involved is often as important as knowing how to market in those areas. Let’s consider an example of the food giant, McDonald’s. The company enjoys a global presence; operating in more than 100 countries. They entrust their local operations to local managers of the countries they operate in. Furthermore, their menus are customized according to cultural habits and local taste preferences in every country. It is without a doubt that global thinking and cultural understanding are both powerful business tools which allow multinational firms to dominate the local markets.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that it is vitally pivotal to be accustomed to local customs for overseas residence due to its impact on not your daily life but our success as well.