People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that following the customs and traditions when residing in a new country is a way to help people quickly adaptation to new environment. While I agree that people should adapt the local culture life however they might keep their own old traditional practices.

On one hand, it is beneficial for immigrants to integrate into local cultures due to some reasons. Firstly, they are able to adapt speedily to new environment lifestyle. Therefore, they can feel that they are a part of local community which enables them to get on well with local resident . In addition, commencing a new life in foreign country, they might face numerous diplema if they still adhere to the old customs and traditional. For example, obtaining beef meat in Muslim country like India is thoroughly difficult because residents consider cow as their god. Thus, they are better to follow the local customs rather than breaking resident’s rule. Finally, adapting local culture helps newcomer to avoid being social isolated. This could be because respecting local customs and traditional practice enable people to have better cultural assimilation in a new land.

On the other hand, immigrants can adjust their way of living in order to fit in the local community. First and foremost, maintaining original culture is a way to help the next immigrants’ generation to understand the value of mother culture. For instant, Vietnamese community in USA, they are not only celebrate the new year in America but also they enjoy the Vietnamese Tet holiday which was created by their ancestor. Furthermore, if newcomers only observe the local customs and traditional practices they might probably lose their old culture and this leads to the disappearance of long – standing culture values of expatriate.

In conclusion, I would argue that it is essential for newcomers to follow the traditional and habits of locals in the host country. However the old culture can be adjusted by immigrants to blend fully into new society.