People should look after their health as a duty to the society they live in rather than only for

their own personal benefit. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Personal healthcare has been highlighted as an emerging issue, escaping broader public attention in recent years. Despite the suggestion prioritizing healthcare for social benefits, indiviuals should pay attention to their health for both personal and social interests.

People should pay attention to their health for personal benefits. First, individuals’s ignorance to health could practically culminate in their overconsumption of unhealthy sugar-dense products teeming with carginogenic substances and preservatives. This means that the possibilities of consumers’s constracting cardiorvascular diseases or even cancers are strong, shortening their life expectancy. Second, the involvement in excercise activities would correlate with people’s health betterment. For instance, jogging balances blood pressure and minimizes fat accumulation, preventing many health risks.

Nevertheless, individuals take care of their health for social interests. First, increased health issues stemming from personal health irresponsibilites are associated with increased hospital admissions. If this pattern continue, the deterioration of hospitals’ facilities and treatment quality could inevitable, demanding greater governments’ capital injection, which can minimize disbursements on other social sectors and services. In addition, due to personal health negligence, people could be more susceptible to contagious conditions, the emergence of an epidemic is highly likely. For example, many citizens in Western Africa are infected with Ebola because of insanitary living conditions, inadequate self-care guidance and personal health awereness, making the disease spread to many other regions, becoming the deadliest epidemic in humans’ history.

In conclusion, individuals should take care of themselves on both personal and social grounds. Better health consciousness could decrease many health risks and act as an incentive for social stability in the long term.