People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to the modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The maintenance of outdated buildings has been highlighted as an emerging issue, raising many questions of its necessity. Given the suggestion that old buildings should be replaced by modern ones, I partially agree.

On the one hand, the upkeep of old constructions could bestow positive benefits. First, it is proved that in many nations, especially culturally rich ones, religion beliefs, customs and original ancient architectural styles are mainly manifested through old constructions. If these historically and culturally significant old sites were demolished, it would be the utter rejection of national culture. From the economic perspective, due to old buildings’ cultural importance, they could be utilized as tourism spots. For example, Vietnamese tourism department has undertaken initiatives, maintaining and renovating the old harbours and surrounding feudal style houses from 17 century, attracting millions of visitors, feeding into increased national revenues.

However, it is true that some old buildings should be destroyed, giving way for modern olds. Specifically, because outdated constructions are designed and installed with less advanced materials and architectural technologies than modern ones, they could be susceptible to deterioration though time, making dilapidation or collapse inevitable products, rasing problems of safety. For instance, death casualties in the infamous Japanese earthquake disaster in 2011 mainly stemmed from the old constructrions’ collapse with concrete cracks falling onto civilians, which has been addresed by Japanese disaster relief agency by setting up modern buildings with special foundations with compressed air in order that homes levitate when the earth shake.

In conclusion, I believe that only old constructions with deteriorated structures which could pose as a safety menace to civilians should be demolished while those with cultural significance could be maintained and retrofitted. Additionally, it is governments’ responsibility to decide on which old sites should be removed for the ultimate long-term interests of the national citizens.