A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people think that values such as honor and kindness have become unimportant and the only important thing is the amount of money a person has. I strongly disagree with this statement and I will explain the reasons below.

There is no doubt that respect towards richer people has increased in the last few decades, so, the more income you have, the more respected you will be. However, this does not mean that a rich person is more valued. For example, someone who has a lot of money and does not share his wealth is going to be seen as a selfish person. People neither like nor respect them. By contrast, rich people who serve the society through their charitable acts receive a lot of adulation and admiration. Take, for instance, the case of Bill Gates. He is one of the most respected persons in the whole world but that is not because he is the richest man. Rather what made him so respectable is his philanthropic work.

There are also lots of celebrities like actors and sports persons who work for charitable institutions. They use their fame and influence to gather support for the causes they believe in. They also attract a lot of respect. For instance, in Spain, my country, there is an actor couple who quit their profession to volunteer for a charity helping poor children. These actors are well recognized because of their kind acts and not because of their money.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that money will certainly increase a person’s social standing; however, old values such as kindness and generosity are still very much cherished and in order to win the true love and admiration of their fellow citizens rich people have to show kindness and generosity.