Pollution of rivers, lakes, and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

<p style="margin-bottom: 15px; color: rgb(40, 70, 100); font-family: Nunito, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">In the industrialized era today, the exponential increase of pollutants has converted our water bodies into a pool of poison, making it become an alarming global issue. Several reasons behind this problem as well as some practical impacts on natural creatures and human beings will be addressed in the following essay.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 15px; color: rgb(40, 70, 100); font-family: Nunito, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">To begin with, along with the advancement of technology and industry, there are three main contributors to the high rate of water pollution. The first cause to note is water pollutants including toxic chemicals, heavy metals, and waste have stemmed from factories, residents' farms, and minerals mining activities on land along the coast or far inland. Undoubtedly, the more the development of the industry is, the more the pollution in water is. Secondly, although the ocean almost gets polluted by accidental oil leakage, marine debris, particularly plastic, which originates from human daily life, has a close correlation with water contamination. Apparently, depending on the size of the containers, the toxicity of oil leaks, and the size of the ocean, the extent of the pollution would vary considerably, while human-made waste depends on their demand for housing, food, and clothes. Moreover, air pollution leads to acid rain, contaminating the water circle that enters streams, rivers, and seas. As an example, the huge amount of exhaust fumes from vehicles boosts the concentration of pollutants in the rain.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 15px; color: rgb(40, 70, 100); font-family: Nunito, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">With the numerous reasons for water pollution, the effect of this problem on the life of diverse species and people's life is powerful enough to lead the world on the path of destruction. Firstly, the risks of the community's health are negatively impacted by drinking polluted water, with a higher rate of cancer and fatal disease and potential danger of congenital malformation in babies. The number of children in Africa who suffer from infectious diseases in areas lacking clean water is also a troublesome matter today, for example. Without clean water to support life, our habitat would soon become a dead planet and humans would be extinct, even before some kinds of animals. Secondly, not only could contaminated water put animal life under threat, but it could also pose a severe hazard to organisms and vegetation that survive in water, including amphibians. This threatens the varied source of food, habitats, and the appropriate temperature for the existence of a variety of creatures.</p><p style="color: rgb(40, 70, 100); font-family: Nunito, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: normal;">To sum up, there are many specific reasons related to this issue and its serious impact have already been mentioned. Humans should take water pollution into consideration and find out solutions as soon as possible.</p>