In the present era, children are found to have fewer responsibilities than it used to be in the past time. Some people consider it as positive development, however, some other people believe it to be a negative trend

Being responsible has long been regarded as the precursor of children’s development. In contemporary society, younger people are considered to take fewer responsibilities than they were in the past. While this trend could bring more benefits to children, I would argue that it is more likely to have detrimental effect.

On the one hand, it is widely believed that taking fewer responsibility is beneficial for children in many ways. Firstly, younger generation may have a memorable childhood if they have fewer tasks to do. There is no doubt that some tasks require hours to complete such as preparing the meals or looking after pets, which curtails their relaxing time. Instead of doing these mundane duties, children could make friends with their peers or watch their favourite programs. That make them feel free from any kind of tension in their childhood. Secondly, children are able to preparing about their future better when shouldering less responsibility. For instance, individuals whose dreams are become an artist, could invest more time in drawing and painting since they were young as long as they were given less work to do.

On the other hand, I would argue that these benefit are eclipsed by the drawbacks. The most important advantage of letting children work is that it facilitates children’s cognitive and physical development. When working, children are trained from their parents and from these tasks they have done, they could learn many things about the world. As a result, children could self- develop better based on what they achieved through doing these tasks. Secondly, children will become more independent and versatile when they grow up. With many tasks such as cleaning the house or preparing the meals, which are almost essential for their latter life, children are able to take care themselves when they are adults.

In conclusion, while some people believe that children should be taken lesser responsibilities to have a happier childhood, I am convinced that children should do some work on their own. If regulated properly, these duties are effective for young people to become more self-sufficient.