At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

it is well-known fact that the fraction of young generation is more than senior citizens in some countries. This issue of whether it is beneficial or not is certainly a controversial one. Despite the arguments of some people that the negative effect is more than the positive one, I personally believe that the large proportion of young adults facilitate the country’s development.

one point which I consider to be absolutely vital is that junior citizens provide tremendous productivities compared with the old generation. people who between 18 to 50 is the major manpower to maintain a society’s operation, while people who are over 50 is preparing to retire or already enjoying their retirement. it is obvious that if the number of older people outweighs the number of junior citizens, the society’s productivities will be hardly to keep in the high level and thus it will damage a country’s competitiveness. Therefore, as the situation of more young adults can bring more productivities to society, it is clear that it is better to have more younger people than older people.

In Addition, on the financial aspect, as the older people is the welfare user but the young is the financial supporter, the society can be balanced by having more amount of young adults than older people. people who have retired can enjoy various benefits such as healthcare and subsidies. However, people who are working are required to pay tax. When the government’s expenses outweigh the income, the government to go into deficit which will force the policy marker to reduce the expenses by cutting the welfare and increase the income by rising the tax rate. As a result, there are no winner in the society if the situation is having more older than younger.

In summary, owing to the productivity and the financial benefits, the advantages of the situation that younger people is more than older people definitely outweigh the disadvantages.