At the present time, the population ò some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it is clear that in some territories, the number of young adults has surpassed that of senior citizens. Although there are several drawbacks which may derive from this situation, I still believe that the merits are greater.

As the population of some nations has become younger, a number of disadvantages may occur in terms of economic and societal aspects. In a working place, the decrease in older staff means that there are more inexperienced workers which leads to uncertainty in management system. For example, young chief executive officers find it hard to manage a company effectively because they do not have sufficient psychologic knowledge as well as interpersonal skills. Furthermore, youngsters need more time to enable themselves to build their confidence and cope with stress in the hectic life. Otherwise, the risk of conflicts in working places or daily activities can be higher than that of the older.

Nevertheless, it is also obvious that the younger the citizens are, the faster the nation develop. A typical example is that when Japan was considered to be the young-population nation in the last decade, its development pace surpassed its neighbor countries, while it has slowed down recently and it is predicted that the economy there will hardly accelerate in the next ten years because of the higher average age. Moreover, the young generation is flexible, dynamic, creative and adaptable. As a consequence, more invention and innovation can be put into practice so as to enhance the living quality and boost the wealth of some specific nations.

In conclusion, although having a relatively large number of youngsters in one country has its pros and cons, I believe that the one with high average age develops in a traditional way is good, but another with younger age on average is still better.