At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The balance between old and young generation comprising a nation's population has always been a contentious issue for many people, and some of them claim that the younger generation has accounted for more population compared to older generation in some parts of the world. Although, there are a number of drawbacks associated with this trend, I believe the benefits accuring are more.

Turning to downsides of this trend, it is an undeniable fact that there is a heavy competition on job and education opportunities around the world, and due to fact that the number of vacancies are limited, hence, high effort and time are what are needed for individuals to got admitted in an interview or enterance exam. Consequently, people will go through difficulties and challenges in order to make their ends meet, and foster their life,. Furthermore, not all human's need can be provided by individual themselves, there are some needs of human being such as job security or accessible healthcare that should be provided by the governments. Since, these factors contribute to anxiety or disease, if they fail in this case, their nations will probably struggle with a variety of problems on mental and physical wellbeing.

On the other hand, having young residents will bring numerous benefits for the authorithies. Firstly, as it is apparent, young people are more keen to acquire knowledge about education, language or IT, skills that can enhance the ranking of any society. As a result, the more young residents comprising the population, the more specialists they can have which can really make a difference in a society's economy. Secondly, it has been proved in many psychological studies that countries with younger population have a lively spirit which leads to less mental problems. Take developed and developing countries as an example, the rate of available job positions, wage and the quality of life is relatively higher in developed countries. In contrast, the proportion of mental and physical problems like heart stroke, blood pressure or anxiety is significantly higher in developing countries.

In conclusion, having young citizens has always been a great advantage for many countries all around the globe. However, there are some drawbacks of this trend, yet I believe since young generation is not only the backbone of the workforce of a country, but also they are its soul, so the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.