At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, several countries in the world have a higher number of adults compared to that of the elderly. While this trend may have some demerits, I believe that they are eclipsed by the benefits.

To begin with, a comparatively large number of the young population could help to reduce the burden on them. Particularly, many people have to not only nourish their children but also take care of their parents, so the strain put on this sandwich generation could be lowered if there are fewer older people. For example, a family that has more than one child would be put under less pressure when the parents become older, because they may share their responsibility. Furthermore, a great number of young adults could increase the labour sources of a country. In more detail, the adults are the main source of employment, so the more young people a country has, the less insufficient workers in an economy. Clearly, a country with a higher number of adults would have less burden and more chances to develop.

However, some people still claim that the lower number of the elderly could lead to the lack of skilled employees in many areas. They may believe that the old people have not only more experience but also valuable knowledge that a young man would not have. But I completely argue that the adults would be taught to approach their work in more modern ways which are faster and more convenient. To be specific, at the present time, people are trying to apply technology as much as they can in almost all fields, unlike what people did in the past. For instance, many complex calculations now can be done by artificial intelligence, which is faster compared to the traditional methods of our grandparents. As a result, a country could have a great deal of young adults who are proficient in working in state-of-the-art ways.

To sum up, the benefits of this trend certainly outweigh its drawbacks. Not only can reduce the burden put on the sandwich generation but they also help to raise the number of labourers. Moreover, including more young adults means having more qualified workers with a great ability of technology.