At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some countries age demographics show that the number of young people is becoming increasingly higher in comparison with the number of the elderly. While there are persuasive arguments in favour of its benefits, I would argue that its drawbacks are far more.

Obviously, vital Human Resources are of paramount importance for any nations. Firstly, those who support this trend would claim that in this situation government would have far more access to human labor-force. Therefore, there will be no need for companies to be concern about the scarcity of workforce. Secondly, the more manpower, the better development could happen. Thus, the pace of advancement in such society would inevitably increase. As it can be seen in Iran. Finally, those powerful groups are able to provide their older fellow citizens with higher standards of living. Potentially, this situation contributes to higher longevity. For instance, China, where there are countless labor-force, embodies this idea perfectly.

on the other hand, there will be always another side of the coin if we investigate this trend in a more conscious way. First and foremost, if the current trend goes unchecked there will be high incidence for individuals to be unemployed. As a result, nepotism and favouritism will increase in seizing job opportunities. This problem will be compounded by the fact that young people should bear the burden of elderly citizens as well. Consequently, it will put them under severe strain at that important stage of their life. Furthermore, in such countries ‘brain drain’ is inevitable. Thus, younger generations would probably make a decision to emigrate to countries that these problems are less. For example, in middle eastern countries this situation is prevailing.

By and large, notwithstanding the fact that having more human resources would be beneficial for any society, I am of the opinion that the dire consequences of this trend overshadow its merits. Owing to the unemployment and hard economic climate that it can feasibly cause.