Present a written argument or case to an educated non-specialist audience on the following topic:

In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous.

What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the begining of sport competitions, winners were initially motivated to break and make new world records or to habe a golden trophy to take home. However, present champions are drivn by the promise of monetory prizes or a chance at fame.

Before all the media, only a handful of sport enthuists knew about the sport events and cheered on the competitors to win. For example, the Olympics were solely exclusive to the Europeans. But now its door is open to all and has become a global sports championship .

As a result, every news on sport is often in highlighted on TV, radio and many social networking sites. So, now the sportmens are more interested on getting their recognition via getting famous. According to the athletes, winning the first prize means nothing if nobody knows you name. Sponsorship from various brands a very chaming way to earn some extra money for them. To get such sponsorships (and to keep up with other players), they choose other method than attending the games.

Although such changes in the mentality of the player is not harmful, sometimes some unwanted accidents happens. As instances, world famous footballer, Messi, has been accused of Scoring less in natioal games as he is not payed by Argentinian government. Same accusition have passed to Bangladeshi cricket all-rounder, Shakib al-Hasan. Whether all these rumors are true or not, is yet to be proven.

On a serious note, these players have become popular after proving their worth to the viewer and thus became fan favourites. However, the new generation players want to be well-known to the people as soon as they debut. So they choose unlawfull ways to succeed. Abusing substances, bullying others, buying slots of news or making a scandal are some of the acts that have been performed by the newcomers to gain attention. Such action not only creates negative outlook on the new players but also take valuable time away from the most-promising one.