Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Agree or disagree?

It is accepted that offenders or murderers are legitimately sentenced to prison in an given amount of time in most countries. However, I personally think that education will be a better alternative solution to solve crimes due to some following reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that prison is a beneficial way to defer prisoners from committing criminals since they are locked away and then they do not have chance to reoffend. Additionally, time spent in prison helps them reflect themselves and their offended behaviours. They probably can realize their faults and long to change for the better. However, there are also drawbacks when incarcerating people. Surrounded by aggressive and cruel inmates will influence other’s characters and consequently there is a likelihood that these people will be re-convicted after being released. Besides, once someone is placed in prison with poor accommodations, he or she cannot receive enough support from society and family to rehabilitate his or her criminals.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that a better education, an alternative solution apart from incarcerating people, seems to be more effective. According to a research in Hanoi University, people with insufficient education are more likely to commit crime compared to those with poor academic performance. Therefore, to reduce the amount of criminals, it is better to educate people, especially youngsters, sufficiently and appropriately. For prisoners, education brings them proper, accessible opportunities as well as the love and support from society and their family in order to change their character and eventually become better themselves after being released.

In conclusion, education will soon become a more effective solution to reduce crimes apart from placing people in prison.