The private motor vehicle has greatly improved individual freedom and movement. Moreover, the automobile has become a status symbol. Yet the use of private motor vehicles has contributed to some of today most serious problems.

How can the use of private motor vehicle be reduced?

Nowadays, the mobility and flexibility of people is related by brands of car which they have. Furthermore, the existence of them has been considered as symbol economic status. On the other hand overloading in using private automobile can really become serious problem. In this following essay, I will offer possible solution to be able to overcome the problem.

First of the solutions needs government’s active role. Least of all, there are two roles which must be done by government in this case. Firstly, government has to increase tax of private car up to maximum amount. This is the best way to stop people liking to collect many personal vehicles. Because with expensive tax, the people will repeatedly think to have many cars in one family, even not impossible, they are forced to look for cheaper alternative transportation as public transportation. In addition, government must improve seriously public transportation system. For example, using sophisticated and modern system both transportation, highway, traffic and customer service.

However, only government’s active role, it is not enough. This must be supported by societies’ awareness especially having many private cars. Beside priority to enjoy prestige, also society should think that public interest is more urgent to create conducive environment, including in highway. Such as, society must understand and obey traffic rules, is totally able to limit usage of private car and does not drive car alone.

In short synchronization and cooperation between government’s responsibility and society’s awareness to make a good environment for enjoyable life together will really take part in succeeding and solving this case.