Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Colour has a huge impact on a person's physical and mental well-being and thus psychologists all over the world have given this matter a serious consideration. Colour is so important that often times important places and venues like hospitals and work places are decorated with specific colour scheme in order to soothe the patients or to increase the productivity of the employees. In my opinion, this view weights a lot as colour has a huge impact on mood and behavior of a person and such overall well-being and effectiveness.

Appropriate choice and combination of colour at home, school or any health care facility can give people a sense of comfort and peace. For illustration, when Alberta Children Hospital was built in Calgary, a group of children were invited to give their insight regarding the decoration and colouring options of the facility and ultimately the hospital was built valuing their opinions. This hospital with combination of so many colours from outside is such an eye-catching facility providing services to thousands of children for years now. Of course, the most important thing of a health care facility is service but the environment where the patients are being treated also plays a significant role. This means to say, the colour and decoration of the hospital room can be some lighter colour like light blue or green with few furniture to soothe or give a sense of homely environment. Therefore, it can be said without any dought that we can observe the positive influence of colour on health if it has a proper combination and right location.

Furthermore, colour can carry out a huge role in the effectiveness of the employees. Any public workplace or large building where lots of people are working, the overall interior design and colour scheme can improve the mental and physical well-being and such increase work quality and productiveness. For instances, office rooms are mostly coloured with light grey or white which can give a feeling of peace or calmness. It is very rare to see any workplace which is coloured bright red or orange, which colours are so bright that they can give headache and eyestrain. Hence, it is worth the research finding that colour can improve productiveness.

In conclusion, colour plays a great role in how people are feeling. Due to its huge influence in human life, health facilities and workplaces are given serious consideration regarding colouring and decoration. I totally agree this trend can promote overall health of public and produce effectiveness of the employees.