Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

The need of the hour is to represent public places conducive for people who visits there. It is known for many years that human feelings are affected by colour. Various points supporting the statement will be highlighted below.

Firstly, an hospital is a place that cures people. With new hospitals coming up people are given options to choose from where they can get treated, it is not only important to have best doctors but also to have a pleasant environment which further increases the confidence of the patients on the hospital. Psychological aspects of the patient plays an important role in their recovery. In on organisation working with better potencial goes hand in hand with working for extended hours. Though countless factors are involved in the quality of work done, colours surrounding a person greatly influences them. For Instance, hospitals are painting their walls with white and green color due to their appealing nature. Furthermore, Labour section has images and painting of children and toys to develop confidence in mothers.

Secondly, There are negative aspects to certain colours.Patients do not prefer hospitals painted in red or any dark colour as they resemble blood. In a work environment dark coloured walls and furnitures gives a negative aspect towards work and people tend to loose interest in them. This will result in losses for the company. For Example, various research conducted by stanford educational institute has stated that, productivity of people have gone up by 9% when they work in office painted in white and has non-controducting furnitures.

To summarize, various points mentioned above put forth my views that bright colours should be avoided as they affect the psychology of people adversely.