Q: In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

The number of elderly people in many countries experiences a burgeoning increase in the recent decade. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative consequences led by this issue.

The increasing number of people over 60-year old might cause social issues. First of all, this will raise the old-age dependency ratio as many elderly people are not financially independent and do not have regular income to fulfil their basic necessity. So, the governments have to support old-age people by providing living allowances and accommodations. If the nations have not unburdened financially on the elderly people, this money can be allocated for other public purposes such as education and technology sector having more impact on the society and nation as a whole.

However, the growing number of people over 60-year old indicates the better development of a nation because this defines that the country has a better improvement, especially in the health sector. Take several developed nations such as Japan and French as an example, having more than 15% of the elder population caused by the increasing of life expectancy. This is evidence that they provide the best health services for the public to ensure that the citizens have the best physical well-being as well as can live longer.

To sum up, an additional number of older people population in several countries should be considered both negative and positive outcomes. The drawback of this phenomenon is that the government must initiating and funding many programs for the elderly to make sure their well-being, while the merit of this issue is the nations experienced a well-off trend a general.