The qualities a person needs to become truly successful in today's world can not be learnt from university or similar academic institute.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, attributes needed by an individual to attain success can't be learnt from a tertiary institution. In my view, I totally disagree with this because university education is what distinguishes a professional from others.

Attending a higher institute of learning distinguishes a professional from others. While in the institute he or she is taught both in character and in learning, so by virtue of their educational background they are able to think intellectually which gives them an edge over their contemporaries who are not well read. In other words, applying their knowledge in their business or career of choice they stand a better chance to excel and become more successful when compared to a person of lesser or no educational background. For instance in Nigeria, over 75% of business people, tend to go back to universities to acquire more knowledge and skills to enhance their business.

On the long run the they're able to learn more strategies and inadvertently become more successful.

Another point to consider is that a higher educational background is a determinant factor in running for a political post in the the government. Irrespective of your wealth or finance, without a high educational qualification you can't be dimmed fit for any post in any parastatal. This is so because, the public would prefer a person who is better educated and versatile in every areas and believing with their wealth of experience would govern them better than some one with little or no academic quality. For example, in my country Nigeria where the President has a limited level of schooling, the country is in chaos, because intellectually he is found wanting and can't be said to be successful.

I believe success is perceived by ones level of intellectual development and which can only be acquired from a higher institute.

To conclude, there are varied thought about what attributes is needed to be successful, but I believe that attending a university would stand you out, making you more successful.