Question: Some people say that men are naturally more competitive than women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

(IELTS Academic – 02/10/2021)

Our current society has seen women make meaningful advancements in both professional and personal aspects. However, the stereotypical belief that women are naturally less competitive than men is still held by many people. In my estimation, I disagree with this sentiment since women are as equally driven as men to succeed and they have biological duties that are merely different to men.

Firstly, contemporary society has witnessed modern women rapidly progressing in professional and personal spheres. Females work in almost every business sector as they can excel equally as well at any job as their male counterparts. Women have risen to the same executive-level positions as men within the private sector as they are motivated now to do so out of a desire to be treated and considered as equals. A clear example of this is VietJet CEO Nguyen Thi Phuong Thao, who thanks to her unflinching will to compete in the male-dominated air travel industry in Vietnam, now has a net worth of 2.8 billion US dollars, making her the second richest person in Vietnam and the richest woman in the country.

Secondly, this stereotype only persists because women have inherent biological duties that are unique to them such as birthing and rearing children that are more subtly competitive. Because of those household and maternal duties, many women leave their jobs to dedicate enough time to raising a family. If women are to establish themselves professionally, they have to expend more effort to have time for their careers. Unlike with men, it is not always possible for women to do this because their biological responsibilities as wives and mothers are an obstacle for their career aspirations. However, this obscures the competitive nature of women since they often leave their jobs to raise families. These inherent biological duties merely put women in a different place from men and the byproduct is that it conceals their competitive nature.

In conclusion, I do not concur with the assertion that men are naturally more competitive than women since they have shown to be equally driven as men in being proficient at their work and their biological traits are the reason for this prejudice. With the way society is currently progressing, this conservative way of thinking is becoming rapidly outmoded.