Question:

The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing shortage of resources like water, food and fuel.

To what consequences may overpopulation lead?

In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

THE EARTH IS BECOMING OVERLY POPULATED WHICH CONTINUES TO AGGRAVATE THE PROBLEM OF LIMITED SUPPLIES OF WATER, FOOD AND EVEN FUEL. THIS ISSUE IS CAUSING MORE AND MORE NEGATIVE EFFECTS TO THE LIVES OF BILLION PEOPLE AND THEIR COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD. FOR THIS TO BE CONTROLLED, EVERYONE SHOULD WORK TOGETHER TO CONTROL THE GROWING POPULATION. THIS ESSAY WILL FURTHER DISCUSS THE DETRIMENTAL RESULTS IT MAY CAUSE AND POSSIBLE WAYS TO RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

OVER TIME, THE RISING NUMBERS OF PEOPLE ALL OVER THE WORLD HAD BEEN HARD TO CONTROL. AS A RESULT, MORE AND MORE CITIES BECAME OVER CROWDED WHICH MEANS LESS SPACE FOR EVERYONE TO LIVE COMFORTABLY. ANOTHER NEGATIVE EFFECT IS THE SPREAD OF A LOT OF DISEASES ESPECIALLY THE CONTAGIOUS ONES. IN LINE WITH HEALTH ISSUES, AS THE POPULATION RISE SO AS THE POLLUTION. NOISE, WATER AND AIR POLLUTION CONTINUE TO WORSEN EVERYDAY AS MORE AND MORE PEOPLE CONTRIBUTE TO THIS. IN ADDITION, THE DEMAND FOR WATER AND FOOD SUPPLIES INCREASES MAKING IT HARD TO SUSTAIN BECAUSE WE DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH RESOURCES. FINALLY, COUNTRIES WITH HIGHER PERCENTAGE OF PEOPLE TEND TO EXPERIENCE MORE FINANCIAL AND ECONOMIC DIFFICULTIES. THESE UNWANTED RESULTS ARE ACTUALLY BEING SEEN ON SOME DEVELOPING COUNTRIES SUCH AS INDIA, PAKISTAN AND LIBYA WHERE A LOT OF HEALTH ISSUES AND FINANCIAL STRUGGLES ARE BEING REPORTED BECAUSE OF OVER POPULATION.

THE BATTLE FOR INCREASED POPULATION IN GOING TO BE A TOUGH ONE BUT THE POSSIBILITY OF WINNING WILL BE HIGHER IF EVERYONE WILL FIGHT TOGETHER. THE GOVERNMENT AND ITS PEOPLE SHOULD HELP EACH OTHER IN ORDER TO SUCCEED. I BELIEVE THAT THE GOVERNMENT CAN START BY IMPOSING ORDINANCES OR LAWS IN CONTROLLING THE NUMBER OF CHILDREN A COUPLE CAN HAVE. REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH PROGRAMS SHOULD BE CREATED IN ORDER TO PROVIDE REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH EDUCATION TO FAMILIES. IN THIS WAY, COUPLES WILL HAVE THE CHANCE TO LEARN SOME MEANS TO CONTROL CHILD BIRTH SUCH AS FAMILY PLANNING AND CONTRACEPTIVES. IT IS ALSO ESSENTIAL TO RAISE AWARENESS ABOUT THE CONSEQUENCES OF A RISING POPULATION. CHINA IS AN EXAMPLE OF A COUNTRY THAT HAS A LAW WHICH ENCOURAGES EACH FAMILIES TO HAVE ONLY 1 OR 2 CHILD/CHILDREN.

IN THE END, OVER POPULATION IS ONE OF TODAYS ISSUES THAT SHOULD BE GIVEN MUCH TIME AND EFFORTS TO RESOLVE AS IT EFFECTS ARE ALARMING. THEREFORE, WE SHOULD WORK HAND IN HAND TO FIGHT THIS PROBLEM.