With the rapid advancement of communication technology: smart phones, tablets and other mobile devices, some people believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is no doubt that the innovation in technology especially communication devices offers chances for human to have a convenient life. Nonetheless, some individuals oppose this due to unwanted consequences to the society. From my point of view, the benefits would overshadow the drawbacks on account of some reasons as follow.

To commence with, the negative sides of technological devices development would be a contentious issue. Firstly, it is apparent that making use of smart phones or tablets with high frequency would be detrimental to citizens’ health. According to WHO, mobile radiation wave has some repercussions on neuronal electrical activity in particular brain’s alpha wave disruption, which deteriorates cognitive function, sleep, and various brain diseases including brain tumors are documented. Secondly, the personal information of mobile users would be unsecured when they upload it to their cellphones. That is justified by a recent survey by MIT university that approximately 55 percent of blackmails on the Internet is the outcome of using unauthorized apps.

On the other hand, the advantages of communication technology would be indisputable. Admittedly, without the invention of smartphones, inhabitants are incapable of transmitting information regardless of faraway distance. The applications of these interactive means can be witnessed in the economy such as holding meeting via Facetime or working from home with the use of cellphones, which means the waste time for traveling could be reduced and productivity in working with would enhance. Furthermore, nowadays such cutting-edge devices are multi-functional, in other words, individuals could also access to the Internet in lieu of relying on the computer to read newspapers or seek direction. As a result, the uses of smart devices would be beneficial to not only the citizens but also the economy.

With the aforementioned statements, I reaffirm that, the advantages of innovative communication devices would eclipse the negative impacts. Nonetheless, citizens should not abuse the use of smartphones to keep body healthy and evade information leaking.