Recently we are facing increasing number of cars, which poses a great threat to the pedestrians and cyclists. What’s more, a lot of parks need to be sacrificed as a result of the construction of railways and superhighways. Do you agree or disagree? What do you think is the best solution to satisfy residents to their heart’s content?

In recent years, it is unquestionable that the development of global economy and high tech has been variably associated with numerous severe social issues. Ever-increasing number of cars commuting on streets and the constructions of railways and superhighways are the two emerging problems. These, of course, cause a lot of troubles to residents, thereby, plausible approaches need to be made to solve these problems once and for all.

Firstly, great threats to pedestrians and cyclists can be seen from the growth of number of cars. With huge sizes, cars always occupy a lot space in the parking lot or pavements, which creates the feeling of uncomfort and inconvenience to pedestrians. More importantly, drivers may cause injury to pedestrians incidentally when they move their cars out of the pavements since both of them fail to watch their way carefully. With regard to cyclists, a high volume of cars travelling on streets makes them find it hard to watch out obstacles on streets, which in some cases lead to accidents. Therefore, to tackle these problems, I belive it is the government’s responsibility to reduce to amount of cars, perhaps by raising tax on cars. Also, government should provide intensive training courses for drivers before allowing them drive on streets, making travelling much safer.

Secondly, the destruction of parks to pave a way to build infrastructure such as railways and superhighways is detrimental. Residents in these areas are without doubt affected since they no longer have a place of refreshment and entertainment. For example, children at tender ages who always long to take part in outdoor activities which also are considered vital for their physical and psychological development, now are confined in their apartments. Besides, sacrificing parks for building roads also result in air pollution since there are no trees left to absorb carbon-dioxide and gas emissions from vehicles travelling on a daily basis. Hence, it is imperative to adopt solutions in order to deal these issues. It is recommended that government and planners should have a suitable strategy towards these road constructions without destroying parks.

In conclusion, the two aforementioned problems can all be solved effectively once governments adopt suitable solutions.