REDUCING TRAFFIC JAMS.

Some people believe the government should spend money building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others, however, think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is still controversial that which possible solution to tackle congested roads should be applied by the government over past decades. Although it is true that developing road systems is likely to be a good method, I believe that investing in trains and subway lines is a more feasible measure.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why constructing and widening more roads contribute to the reduction of traffic jams. First, Since recent road infrastructure in metropolises is inadequate, expanding road systems accommodates both private cars and buses. For instance, Saigon city has been improving most of the prior road networks to provide more space for means of transport, thus mitigating traffic jams significantly. Moreover, as there is a dramatic increase in the number of commuters travelling to work by individual vehicles, developing new roads connecting to large cities is entirely essential. If the government did not spend on constructing these networks of roads, travelling overloads would be almost inevitable.

On the other hand, I would argue that allocating the government’s funding for public transportation is a more practical option to tackle congested roads. Firstly, since railway and subway lines are constructed underground, car numbers on roads would significantly decrease if citizens switched to use these public transit systems. In fact, developed nations, including Britain and France, has built modern subway networks in order to reduce a large number of individual vehicles, alleviating the traffic density on road networks. Secondly, Public transit is more productive than private cars as this type of transport is cost-effective and time-saving; therefore, commuters living on the outskirts of cities tend to leave their cars at home and commute to city centres by railway lines. This eases traffic congestion successfully.

In conclusion, while the development of road infrastructure might leads to the reduction of traffic congestion, I argue that the construction of train and subway systems is more effective.