Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Natural talents and nurtured experiences are both essential for building someone’s personality. Some researchers believe the characteristics with our birth would affect our lives most significantly than any experiences else. It’s undeniable that some gifts or talents may bring a shortcut to someone’s success, however, I personally think those achievements are attributed to nurtured experience.

A person could be successful without talents, but making efforts is necessary. All the greatest scientists spend their whole lives on their work, even the smartest person ever-Einstein-worked over 120 hours per week. In the same way, good musicians can step on the international stage only by mass practicing. Also, talented persons need a good trainer to guide how to use their gifts properly, otherwise the gift may be abandoned for being misled. Some people outstand others when they are in early ages, but their abilities turn to be ordinary when they grow up. It’s a pity for these people who don’t take care of their talents, without training and practicing, some talents can’t be developed and will end up vanishing. Furthermore, Nurtured educations are also important. Family education and school education both contribute to building someone’s personality. It’s human nature to be self-interested, that’s why we need to be educated to conquer those natural weaknesses. A smart child could turn into a brilliant engineer, or a foxy offender, it’s depended on what kind of education the child received.

To sum up, the nurtured experience influence people’s lives much more than we realize. People have to watch out every step they take as it may lead to huge difference in their later lives.