Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have on our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

In the present world, science has progressed a lot. Many studies are done on genes and chromosomes to identify human traits. Nowadays it is a debatable matter whether an individual’s personality is acquired genetically or developed by the experiences offered by life. In my opinion, lifetime experiences play a greater role than genes in a person’s development.

Inherent traits certainly influence a child. Everyone is born with certain hereditary characteristics. The genes transmit information from generation to generation and they do play a role in shaping the personality and appearance of the child. For example, a child born to dwarf couples will also be a dwarf. Similarly, emotions and behaviour like anger and sensitivity are innate and they have an impact on a person’s development.

However, lifetime experiences have a greater influence on the personality of an individual. A person learns a lot from his environment and these experiences often change him. For instance, I was an introvert as a child. But as I moved into a hostel in my teenage I was transformed into a more sociable person. This was because the hostel life required more interaction with others. Therefore, I believe that the innate characteristics can be altered as required by the surrounding environment. Moreover, the progress of an individual depends upon his own hard work and dedication. The child of a successful doctor need not be as successful as his father. Hence the life of an individual has a positive and negative effect on his personality and development.

In conclusion, the inborn characteristics have some influence on an individual’s personality and development. However, in my opinion, it is mainly the outlook and appearance that are acquired, and not the personality. The lifetime situations have a major influence on our ability to cope with our circumstances and succeed in life.