Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

It is true that it is more useful to expend money on constructing houses and roads than on ancient buildings. While I accept the advantages of having more roads and houses, I partly agree that the money spent on old buildings should be expended on houses and roads.

On the one hand, I agree that governments should invest more in building new infrastructures. Firstly, road expansion and construction can help ease the traffic congestion. This is because when there are more roads, people can choose roads that take them the least time to get to work. Secondly, many couples are reluctant of getting married because of costly price of houses, so it would be nice if houses were subsidized partly by governments. As a result, more young people will be encouraged to marry since their stress of purchasing houses is relived.

On the other hand, it is necessary for governments to restore the ancient buildings. To begin with, expenditure on restoring historic buildings helps preserve cultures and traditions. It is essential to give proper maintenance to those buildings so that the next generations are aware of their origins and history of their countries. For example, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleums is maintained carefully so that every citizen in Vietnam remembers about this great leader, and how he had fought for the freedom of Vietnam. On top of that, governments can make money from these constructions. Several ancient buildings have become tourist attractions such as the Complex of Hue Monuments or Taj Mahal. Therefore, governments can financially benefit from these architectures and utilize the profits to channel into other fields.

In conclusion, I think that governments should try to balance the amount of money they spent on for ancient and modern infrastructures.