With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

People have varied opinions in the trend of electronic books and low interest in conventional books. Although, using technology is accessible and convenient, there are other drawbacks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are several merits derived as a result of resorting to electronic books. Firstly, reading materials from devices such as smartphones and laptops make reading relatively accessible and more convenient. For instance, someone traveling on a long trip does not necessarily need a pile of books to be read as carrying them becomes cumbersome. Secondly, texts in the reading materials from the gadgets can be manipulated significantly into more preferred size and color, thereby making reading friendly and enjoyable. Lastly, most of the younger population are quite interested in exploring about technology, this means that they are likely to be keen in reading subjects taught at school from electronics.

On the other hand, one problem with reading books online is that, the contents found are likely not authenticated by learned or knowledgeable authors. This is because any body at all can collect information and be kept online for the vast majority to read. Eventually, this trend leads to numerous queries about its reliability and the source of the information especially students read in order to prepare for various examinations at school, which might lead to low scores. Another possible drawback with the use of online books is that the very few people who might not be able to operate books using technology means that they would not be able to either find reading interesting or the unavailability of books to be read. In the end, fairness would not have been given to conventional book readers.

In conclusion, while electronic books have some merits, the issues of certified materials become questionable.