The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this, decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transports more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

The traffic congestion is the recent rising issues, because the number of private vehicles is increased as the society develops. As society develops and economically stabled, the traffic congestion within the metropolitan areas is growing and which is becoming socially and environmentally problems around the world. Therefore, many countries have attempted several approaches to reduce the use of private cars in order to reduce the congestion. Unfortunately these approaches have failed, and the only option left for the government is seemed to be encouraging the use of public transportation by providing better services and facilities.

In the past, the traffic congestion was not the problem, because cars were the symbolization of riches. Cars were possessed by wealthy people since ordinary people suffered from poverty. However, the society develops to the place where all the households can possess at least one car and the traffic congestion becomes increasing issues.

As society develops, the number of cars is increasing and which results in major parts of areas become congested. Even though the number of cars possessed by each household is increasing, the quality of life is declining due to environmental damages. The fossil gases and toxic emissions released from each vehicle can cause massive destruction to the atmosphere, and which enlighten the concerns about the congestion and the use of private vehicles. Therefore, the reduction of private vehicle use became the primary issue to be tackled.

As well as the individuals, the governments and the world organisations such as WEO and UNEP have attempted several approaches to solve the world's congestion issues. Each country had imposed a huge tax on vehicle manufacturing companies and consumers, but it did not work according to the plan. Therefore, it appears that the only way to reduce the use of private vehicle would be the encouragement of public transportation.

In order to encourage the use of public transportation, there are several ways such as the installation of more public transportation lanes as well as the frequent public transportation schedules. However, the most effective and the basic approach that could satisfy passengers would be the improvement of the facilities. By installing the frequent public transports that arrive and depart at exact time, it can help people to plan their days without experiencing any delays.

Furthermore, the improvement public transportation facilities, more comfortable seats, faster speeds and direct routes can encourage more passengers. People may use their private cars because lack of seats and crowd at the public transportation. If the governments provide more seats and by implementing more public transportation running, can reduce the use of private vehicles. Therefore, the improvement of public transportation can discourage people to use of private vehicles.

In conclusion, the traffic congestion are the growing recent problems as the society develops. There are several approaches to reduce the traffic congestion problems, however, the most effective way would be the encouragement of public transportation usage. In order to encourage the use of public transportation, the government could improve the public transportation systems by increasing the frequent of systems and improvement of facilities by implementing more seats within each transport modes.