Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is unveiled by researchers that casual automobiles will be replaced by driverless vehicles in the near future. Two major reasons stand out as responsible for this tendency, which may exert a double-edged impact on social betterment.

To begin with, the trend towards cars controlled by automation can be attributed to two contributing factors. Firstly, in many locals, where traffic flow has been denser, driving has become increasingly nerve-wracking, or even physically demanding. Therefore, since the desire of living a convenient life is inherent in our thoughts, the demand of computerized vehicles, which can significantly alleviate the burden residents suffer from in commuting, is heated. In addition, another reason stems from technological breakthroughs. In fact, recent advancements in branches such as robotic technology or artificial intelligent are believed to enable researchers to keep pace with public expectation by providing sufficient tools for accelerating their innovations.

In my opinion, while driverless vehicles can be beneficial, their drawback should not be overlooked. On the one hand, thanks to automatic cars, residents are able to make the most of their time. Specifically, since they have their vehicles driven by computers, social members can accomplish their tasks, participate in a video-conference or just entertaining during their journey duration, which cannot be reaped when casual cars are utilized. On the other hand, however, applying automation to commuting, transport system is thought to be more vulnerable to computer hackers. Indeed, it is foreseen that if a cyber attack happens, malfunctions are more likely to occur, enormously damaging control system and, consequently, catastrophic accidents may be inevitable.

To sum up, automatic cars are predicted to break into market as a result of technological advancements and social requirement, in which advantages stay parallel with disadvantages.