Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about the best ways to cope with perpetrators. Personally, I fully support the view that it is not incarceration but education and vocational training that are the most optimal methods to reform the outlaws.

There are a number of reasons why providing criminals with educational programs and skills training could play a significant role in the drop of crime rate and recidivism. In reality, poor education and job skills could potentially hinder people’s employability and lead to their participation in unlawful acts. For this reason, should the delinquents be enabled to receive education and job training, they will find it easier to apply for a job serving a prison sentence. A stable employment with regular income would undoubtedly discourage them from engaging in illegal activities. It should also be noted that imprisonment might become counter-productive because criminals when being mixed with other inmates could become more dangerous after being released. The safety of the whole society would in turn be put at risk.

Proponents of the above-mentioned arguments believe that sentencing the law violators to jail is the best way to deal with them. Once they are held responsible for their misdeeds, the social justice system will be maintained. Besides, it is perceived that educational and vocational courses may not be sufficient to turn them into productive members of the society after leaving the gaol. Nonetheless, they ignore the fact that some criminal acts are not deliberate; those who commit petty crimes do not deserve retribution. Incarcerating them could be costly; instead, the money should be channeled into other key sectors such as education and medical sectors to enhance living standard of the general public. What is more, an ex-prisoner with a criminal record might be treated unfairly, making them being unable to reintegrate into society. Accordingly, the ultimate purpose of prison to rehabilitate criminals fails to materialize.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that providing offenders with education and job skills are more viable solutions to criminality. Prison therefore should be the last resort for those who break the law.