Should criminals be punished with lengthy jail terms or re-educated and rehabilitated using community service programs for instance, before being reintroduced to society? What is your opinion?

An often debated topic is whether long term prison sentences have more benefits than rehabilitation and re-education programs for offenders or not. From my standpoint, training and rehabilitation programs have more advantages, as will now be explained.

On one hand, I think criminals leaving prison after long periods of incarceration find it hard to adapt to life on the outside because they are conditioned by life in prison. Also, most of prisoners are poor and uneducated with no useful skills needed for earning money. Therefore, it would be hard for them to have normal behavior socially and to find a paid employment. so the chance of re-offending after release from prison would be high.

On the other hand, training programs can help delinquents develop practical skills which help them to find a job to make a living outside the prison. In addition, rehabilitation programs have many benefits for criminals. For example, they help lawbreakers make the right choices in life and avoid anti-social behaviors. Moreover, these programs can alleviate the social exclusion of offenders and their families which help them have a more normal life in the society.

In conclusion, it is true that crime is morally wrong and criminals must encounter with the consequences of their misdeed, in my opinion putting convicts behind bars for long time have more negative effects on prisoners than rehabilitation and training programs.