Should traffic jams be handled by government or individuals?

In recent years, traffic congestion has become an inevitable phenomenon happening every single hour all around the world. In order to alleviate traffic jams, mutual responsibility should be taken charge of not only by the whole society but also by each individual.

In term of society, the number of vehicles could be cut off by physical or aware approaches. First, the infrastructure should be upgraded as narrow lands act as a deterrent for vehicles to travel. In reality, many developed countries build up the road with four or six lands, which contribute to the decrease in traffic jams, even in urban areas. Second, in case that the economy health does not provide enough budgets, launching lawsuits appear to be the practical method. For example, the government can limit cars parking along the streets by laying restrictions for parking cars with odd and even license' numbers at different periods of time.

On individual aspect, each travellers can reverse the situation by changing their daily habits such as cars' utilization and unnecessary travels in rush hours. First, if people turn for other means of transport that save more spaces, congestion can be directly solve. Moreover, that citizens, especially who live in city center, might consider to become pedestrians or bikers benefits the individual and the community as well. Finally, the ultimate approach is to shorten the period of rush hours. Without emergency, travellers should avoiding crowded roads in order not to make them stuffy.

In conclusion, minimizing traffic congestion should not be burdened only by the society but also by each individual. The key to minimization is comprised of physical and aware approaches.