Should zoos be allowed or be banned?

Recently, there has been an ongoing debate over whether zoos should be prohibited or not. This essay will discuss both sides of this critical concern.

Firstly, it is an irrefutable fact that zoos play a salient role in wildlife conservation. To be clearly stated, in natural habitats where the animals are under grave threats from human and meet a profusion of hazards such as being hunted or poached, the extinction is inevitable. For example, it has been asserted that the disappearance of some species namely Java tiger or Spix parrot from all over the world was triggered by natural disasters, which are unavoidable for animals in wild. Secondly, zoos are a flawless place for education. As possessing a variety of animals, zoos can deliver an excessive amount of information as well as provide great chances to meet them in flesh. Not only does it raise the awareness about biodiversity but also gives people some real experiences such as riding horses or milking.

However, caging animals also causes incalculable damage to them. First and foremost, animals living in captivity usually suffer some mental disorders. Because they are not likely to hunt or run as their nature, animals will inhibit profoundly and easily fly into fury, which leads to some psychological diseases as well as their uncontrollable actions. According to the statistic, there has been approximately thousands of animals killing themselves at zoos because they cannot bear these man-made environment. Besides, zoos contribute to destroying animals’ physical health. For example, on average, a lion need to walk more than 10km a day, which the zoo is not likely to satisfy by dint of its camped space.

To sum up, although I agree that zoos have some benefits such as a sanctuary for endangered animals or an ideal place for education, I am also of the opinion that it should be prohibited