Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Children need a fair number of rules and discipline to prevent unruly behaviour. Quite a few parents believe that the best way to raise children is by corporal punishment. In my opinion, I strongly disagree that striking children is the best method to enforce discipline.

Some parents believe that using power and force can maintain the child's behaviour and leave a long-lasting impact. After all, children are naive and wild and can become easily misled if given any hint of the wrong path. Others may think that children need to learn respect and proper behaviour through fear and punishment; for example, to teach them that life provides harsh consequences when the rules are broken. Furthermore, perhaps these types of parents were themselves beaten when they were young, and therefore do not know of any other manner to raise their own children. Thus, it is understandable why some people agree that physical punishment offers the greatest solution to control children.

However, the idea that beating children is the best way to enforce discipline is completely preposterous. The punishment must fit the crime but for a child, who has little to no concept of right or wrong, the consequences must be lenient. These beatings often come with little to no explanation; therefore, the child does not understand why his or her actions were wrong, and only sees the violence that can leave a long-lasting psychological, or even physical, mark. Furthermore, there is a blurry line between discipline by force and physical abuse, which can eventually lead to traumatized and damaged individuals in the future. For instance, several adults with depression have cited domestic abuse dating back to their childhoods. There are plenty of alternative methods for controlling a child's behaviour that does not involve striking; for example, taking away a favourite toy or imposing a ban on video games for a certain period.

In conclusion, while physical punishment is an understandable viewpoint of many parents, it is not the perfect solution to disciplining children and offers more disadvantages than benefits.