Society would benefit from a complete ban on all forms of advertisement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that whether curbing advertisement will be productive for public or not. Some people conceive a notion that such promotions are detrimental and should be completely stopped. On the other hand, few individuals are of the opinion that advertisements are vital to society. I support the later side at larger extent and the reasons for my perception are elucidated in the ensuing paragraphs.

The foremost argument I put forth is that advertisement is essential to consumers to understand the current trend in the market. In the other words, promotional materials such as billboards, pemplates, television advertisements provide necessary information to buyers to make a wise decision about their purchase. In turn, they can have best commodity with their hard earn money. For example, if a person is looking to buy a new cell phone, through advertisement he/she can understand all the features available in different phones in the market and can buy according to one's need.

Additionally, these advertisements keep competition at highest level in the market. Consequently, consumers are winning as companies try their level best to beat the competitors collectively in both price and product quality. Nowadays through internet and televisions people always get best of their money by finding great deals and discounts. These can not be achieved without advertisement. Furthermore, manufactures are always on their toes to find new ways to cut their cost and improve their products by finding revolutionary and better technology.

On the other hand, we can not deny the impulse buying that the society does due to advertisements. After seeing flashy advertisements and great deals people purchase products that are unnecessary. They indulge themselves in looking for deals to buy products and avail their precious time and hard earn money in complete useless products. according to Atlantic Canadian newspaper, 19% of Canadians buy unnecessary products yearly due to advertisement.

To summarize and recapitulate, from aforementioned deliberation it is quite conspicuous that although advertisements advertisements render people to make unnecessary purchases, it is the driving force behind information and competition that the society needs to have better products.