Some believe that lot of scientific research is a waste of time and money To what extent do you agree or disagree

New inventions are always gifted to the world by researchers; however, some people hold that most of them are unnecessary and waste both time and money. Of course, some of those experiments should certainly be discouraged as they harm the world, while many of them are indeed vital for the existence of the humankind and should therefore be encouraged.

If experiments had not been carried out, the world would have been completely different to what we see today. Medical researches, for instance, have offered mankind a chance to live longer by inventing endless modern drug therapies to fight deadly diseases such as cancers, ischemic heart diseases and cerebrovascular accidents. Likewise, novel biomedical equipment, such as scanners, blood sample processors and surgical instruments, have long been associated with decreasing morbidity and mortality of affected patients. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that five year survival rate of carcinomas has dramatically increased over the past 10 years.

However, instead of giving better life to all living beings, some new findings and creations deteriorate the quality of human life and the environment as well. For example, military equipment and weapons kill people, pollute the environment and destroy the harmony. Even though, biological weapons have not been used so far, studies are going on secretly in view of future use if a need arises. For these studies wealthy nations invest a lot of money, which is completely a wastage and should thereby be terminated.

In conclusion, most of the scientific experiments are ethical and are designed for the betterment of humans as opposed to fewer studies, whereby the whole world could be damaged.