Some children find some subjects as mathematics and philosophy are too difficult to learn so some people argue that those subjects should be optional rather than compulsory To what extent do you agree or disagree

Education is what enables us to distinguish from right and wrong. Educational authorities have segregated educational teaching into numerous subjects such as languages, Sciences, Math, literature and many more. A faction of Society is of the opinion that subject difficult to grasp should be made optional. Whereas, others have a contrary view to the aforementioned idea/proposal. This essay, however, delves into details in the ensuing paragraphs ere a logical conclusion is arrived at.

First and foremost, it is an accredited fact that all academic subjects play a vital role in the holistic development of children. To substantiate this point, I would like to give an example of history subject which is essential to know the past of human progress, Science for the innovations and advancement in technology, literature has aesthetic relevance in human life. Therefore, it is true to say that imparting a fundamental knowledge of every subject in primary school is need of the hour. Adding to this, it is a grave concern that students may not take this reform in the right sense. They would tend to ignore them completely, and that will be fatal for the progress of society as a whole.

Secondly, it is a well-known axiom that math is not just a subject; it is a language. It plays a crucial role in comprehending other subjects such as geography, accounting, and other sciences. Furthermore, a basic understanding of math, for instance, for calculation and consolidation of any data, preparing of budget, analysing of chemical reaction for manufacturing of any drug and many more, is an integral part. Therefore, it will be unwise to declare such a subject not mandatory.

However, it is not a complete picture. Some people favouring the above proposal advocate that non-science student does not require any knowledge of such a difficult subject. Hence, they must be allowed to make it an exception. It is a short-sighted view. Subjects like math also have its importance in a routine social and business transaction. Ergo, it is not justified to make such a crucial subject optional.

After close scrutiny of the above-mentioned aspects, it can be safely concluded that every subject has its own distinct importance in the development of human beings. Hence, the value of any subject should not be degraded by declaring it optional, at least at the primary level. In higher classes, when students are let free to pursue their career, letting them choose the difficult subject as optional would be beneficial for them.