Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the number of times that young people spend every day on their smartphones is increasing. From my perspective, I find the negative aspect of this phenomenon outweighs its positive side.

It is indisputable that there are abundant consequences when children use their most of time to deal with their smartphones. Firstly, the most severe problem is children’s health will be significantly affected. In the physical aspect, the increase in smartphone usage among young age results in eyes problem due to the long hour of focusing on the screen. Furthermore, spending hours on smartphones prevents children from outdoor activities so they are less active and cause more diseases than less using smartphones kids. On the mental side, smart devices make children’s brains become less flexible and when they grow up, this is more difficult to learn and gain knowledge than it will be. Obviously, the social life of these kids is recovered in the smartphones so their communication will be restricted, and through a long time period, this will ruin children’s relationships and they tend to stay alone which is influence the growth of children.

On the other hand, I believe smartphones can bring some positive things depending on how children use their own phones. Sometimes, smartphones can help children gain knowledge and expand social skills like how to connect with friends online and keep in touch with them effectively. In addition, smartphones give an international entertainment environment for children to relax and have fun after a stressful time.

In conclusion, spending hours using smartphones among children cause many negative effects and also positive things if children use smartphones under parental supervision and brings some benefits to their lives.