Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Children using mobile phones has been one of phenomenon in todays world. Numerous children use smartphones more than an hour in a day. This essay will address the root of this problem. I personaly consider that this habit has drawbacks for children health and development.

Many children use devices, such as smartphone excesively. This is mainly because of their parents are unaware about the consequences brought by this habit to their children. Parents gave the mobile phones to their children to console them while they do their jobs as they do not want to be disturbed by their children. The Ministry of Social Work of the Republic of Indonesia reported that in 2022, more than a half of parents in the country allowed their children to play with their phones to entertain them. This implies that majority of parent in the country has low awareness related to the negative sides of smartphones for their children, and this is becoming the primary factor contributing to more and more children use mobile phone.

Although the usage of mobile phone can have some beneficial for children, such as learning new languages or gain information. I personally consider that this device is dangerous for children. Children using smartphone more than one hour in a day have a higher possibility to suffer eyes problems. Furthermore, studies have also reported that children who are given access to mobile phones are likely to experience tantrum in comparison to the children who have not access to the devices.

To sum up, the principal factor contributing to overused of smartphones by children is less awareness of parents about the downsides of this devices for their children. I think that children using smartphone excesively have more risk to suffer eye problems and tantrum.