Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

It is true that high-rises have been constructed in a multitude of municipal areas for the city dwellers. Meanwhile, other cities choose to build residential housing horizontally. From my perspective, vertical buildings are far better in today’s social context.

First of all, the growing population in megacities is the main reason why building upwards is more preferable. The truth is that cities are often seen as places of opportunities for education, employment, entertainment, which all contribute to a decent standard of living. Accordingly, the number of people flocking to metropolises is on the rise, putting a strain on accommodation provision. Housing shortage therefore becomes the key issue facing urban residents. With less and less land available, the property prices are skyrocketing, making homeownership virtually out of reach for low- and middle-income households. For this reason, creating taller buildings might somehow ease the problem as skyscrapers could accommodate more populations compared to the conventional places of residence.

What is more, vertical living is more favorable than horizontal living in terms of convenience and comfort. There is no denying that contemporary housing complexes include not only living space for tenants or homebuyers but also a variety of facilities such as entertainment venues, gymnasiums, swimming pool and so on. This means that urban citizens can reduce their commutes, resulting in the improvement of environmental quality as less exhaust fumes are discharged into the air. Another contributing factor to the comfort of high-rise living is that the occupants would not be exposed to external disturbances such as vehicle noise in comparison with low-rise living. These are the major drivers for which vertical dwellings are gaining in popularity in multiple metropolitan areas.

In sum, due to significant population growth and housing crisis, building homes vertically proves to be a more desirable solution. Vertical houses would therefore bring citizens more fulfilling life.